Close X

Connecticut Administrative DMV Hearing

Administrative Per Se Sanctions Imposed by the DMV

The State of Connecticut imposes severe Administrative Penalties in addition to the Criminal Penalties imposed by the Court.  If you have been arrested for operating under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs and either failed a chemical alcohol analysis of your blood, breath, or urine or refused to submit to such analysis, your operator's license or privilege is suspended effective 12:01 a.m. on the thirty-first day following the date of the arrest.

A Notice of Suspension will be mailed to your address of record allowing seven days to request a hearing.

It is vitally important that you contact the skilled DUI Defense Attorney Matthew T. Marin so that we can begin to prepare a successful defense to be presented at the Department of Motor Vehicles hearing.  The Administrative Penalties imposed by the DMV are severe.

Attorney Matthew T. Marin

860-294-4384

Call Me 24 Hours a Day - 7 Days A Week

For a Free, Confidential Consultation

Penalties for Drivers 21 Years Old and Older*

*In all cases, the Administrative Sanctions will be imposed in addition to criminal penalties and will appear on your driving record.

Blood Alcohol Level First Offense Second Offense Third Offense

Refusal to submit to a blood, breath or urine test:

  • First Offense - 6 months
  • Second Offense - 1 year    
  • Third Offense - 3 years

Test results of .08 or higher up to, but not including, .16:

  • First Offense - 90 days
  • Second Offense - 9 months    
  • Third Offense - 2 years

Test results of .16 or higher:

  • First Offense - 120 days
  • Second Offense - 10 months     
  • Third Offense - 2 1/2 years

Penalties for Drivers Between the Ages of 18 to 20

Blood Alcohol Level First Offense Second Offense Third Offense

Refusal to submit to a blood, breath or urine test:

  • First Offense - 1 year
  • Second Offense - 2 years     
  • Third Offense - 6 years

Test results of .08 or higher up to, but not including, .16:

  • First Offense - 6 months
  • Second Offense - 18 months   
  • Third Offense - 4 years

Test results of .16 or higher:

  • First Offense - 240 days
  • Second Offense - 20 months     
  • Third Offense - 5 years

Penalties for Drivers 16 and 17 Years Old

Refusal to submit to a blood, breath or urine test:

  • First Offense - 18 months
  • Second Offense - 3 years     
  • Third Offense - 6 years

Test results of .08 or higher up to, but not including, .16:

  • First Offense -  1 year
  • Second Offense - 2 years
  • Third Offense - 4 years

Test results of .16 or higher:

  • First Offense - 1 year
  • Second Offense - 30 months
  • Third Offense - 5 years

General Member of the National College for DUI Defense

Member

Attorney Matthew Marin is a General Member of the National College for DUI Defense. College members represent the most experienced DUI defense attorneys in the country. For more information on the National College for DUI Defense, follow the link below.

Attorney Marin Awarded the Avvo Client's Choice Award for 2014

Clients choice award2

Attorney Marin received more than 24 reviews of 4 stars or more and was awarded the Client's Choice Award for 2014 by Avvo.com.

3000 Whitney Avenue # 249
Hamden, CT 06518
860-294-4384
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun: 08:00am - 07:00pm