If you have been charged with drunk driving (DUI) or any other alcohol, traffic, or drug offense, you need an aggressive and experienced defense lawyer who will work to achieve the best result for you. Facing a Connecticut DUI charge is probably the single most significant event in your life right now. Helping people navigate this situation is what we do. We can help answer some of your questions, such as:
- Am I going to jail? Is jail a possibility?
- Am I going to lose my license?
- Is the DUI charge going to impact my job?
- Can the DUI charge be beat or reduced?
If you have questions like these – or need immediate help with a Connecticut DUI – call me now at 860-294-4384. We are available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. Or if you feel more comfortable, send me an email at Attorney Marin or fill out and submit the contact form on this page.
CONTACT ATTORNEY MARIN AT 860-294-4384 NOW!
There was a time when drunk driving was a minor traffic offense. Those days are long gone. Even a first offense Connecticut DUI invokes possible jail time, a harsh driver's license suspension, high fines and an insurance increase or cancellation. Do not try to handle your Connecticut DUI charge alone. If you go to court by yourself you will be taking legal advice from the prosecutor, whose job it is to convict you and collect fine money for the city or state.
WE CAN HELP YOU FIGHT BACK!
When choosing a Connecticut DUI Lawyer be prepared to ask tough questions. Not all Connecticut DUI Lawyers take the time to challenge the case against you. Some lawyers simply walk you through a plea without digging into the police reports, any potentially exculpatory video evidence, and the certification and qualifications of the officer or officers involved. CT DUI Lawyer Matthew Marin fights aggressively on each and every DUI case examine each and every possible defense to deliver the best possible result on your case. Matthew Marin always thoroughly reviews all materials including any and all police reports, any and all video tapes, and materials you have been able to obtain. We will provide you with our experienced opinion as to whether the officers complied with all the required legal process for your DUI arrest. We will also provide you with detailed information as to what you can expect when the case proceeds into Court.
CT DUI Attorney Matthew Marin specifically dedicates a significant portion of his practice to helping people with drunk driving and DUI related issues. Feel free to read through the information contained in the site, read about CT DUI Defense Attorney Matthew Marin and then complete our Free Drunk Driving Case Evaluation.
WE KNOW WHAT IS ON THE LINE FOR YOUR –
AND WE CAN HELP!
You can be charged with a Connecticut DUI when there is evidence that you were driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. A large percentage of DUI convictions are based on test results which prove that the defendant was driving with a blood alcohol content greater than .08%. The penalty for a first time conviction includes 6 months in jail and a $500 fine, as well as a one year license suspension. The penalty will be increased with subsequent convictions, with several years in prison and a driver's license revocation for a multiple/felony DUI charges.
Penalties for a First Offense DUI in Connecticut
|Fines||$500 to $1,000|
Up to 6 Months In Jail with 48 Hours Mandatory Minimum
6 Months Jail Suspended with 100 Hours of Community Service
|License Suspension||One Year|
Restoration Requirements for a First Offense DUI in Connecticut
Duration of Suspension is One Year from Effective Date of Suspension
If the operator was under 18 years of age on the date of the arrest, the duration of suspension is one year from the effective date of the suspension or until the date of the operator's 18th birthday, whichever is longer
- Submit a check or money order in the amount of $125 payable to "DMV"
- If the suspension is a result of an arrest for DUI in Connecticut, the Substance Abuse Treatment Program, approved by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, must be completed before the license can be restored
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
Ignition interlock devices are becoming a much more frequent penalty imposed for drivers convicted of DUI nationally. An ignition interlock is a device which is installed in motor vehicles to prevent people from driving under the influence of alcohol. The device requires the operator of the vehicle to breathe into it to operate the vehicle. Connecticut ignition interlock devices prevent the vehicle from being started if the operator's blood alcohol content is determined be to be above 0.025% (well below the 0.08% legal limit). The ignition interlock device also requires the driver to submit periodic breath samples while he or she is driving.
Who is required to install an ignition interlock device in Connecticut?
First Time Offenders - First time offenders must drive only vehicles equipped with ignition interlocks for one year (once the period of license suspension ends).
Second Time Offenders - Second time offenders may only drive interlock-equipped devices to or from (1) work, (2) school, (3) an alcohol or drug abuse treatment program, or (4) an ignition interlock service center for the first year of a three year period.
How much does the ignition interlock device cost?
The DMV requires a $100 fee before the device is installed and also charges fees which cover the cost of installing and maintaining the devices.
Connecticut DUI Resources and Information:
Directions to Connecticut DUI Locations
DUI Case Lookup
Summary of Connecticut DUI Law