Facing DUI Charges?
We Can Help!
Connecticut Laws take drunk driving very seriously and the penalties become even more severe for a second offense DUI. The same penalties imposed for a first offense are imposed for a second offense, but they are much more severe in degree. The same discretion that the judge had to be lenient in a first offense DUI is given to the judge, in sentencing, to determine what the exact sentence will be. The discretion can be used against the defendant who has been convicted of a second offense DUI in CT.
Given the large amount of discretion given to the prosecutors and judges, it is vitally important that you contact a skilled Connecticut DUI Lawyer who will be able to evaluate the facts of your case, explain to you how the case will be treated, and describe for you the penalties you will likely face if found guilty of a second offense DUI in Connecticut.
CT DUI Lawyer Matthew T. Marin (860) 294-4384 Contact Me 24 Hours a Day – 7 Days a Week
Under Connecticut’s Criminal Law, if a driver is convicted of a Second Offense DUI in CT then the following penalties must be imposed:
CT Second Offense DUI Penalties
- Fine of One Thousand ($1,000) to Four Thousand ($4,000) Dollars
- Two (2) Years Jail with 120 Days Mandatory Minimum and 100 Hours of Community Service
- License Suspension:
- If the arrest was in Connecticut, for suspensions effective on or after 11/9/2005, the suspension is one (1) year followed by 24 months with an approved ignition interlock device
- Suspension duration imposed for arrests that did not occur in Connecticut is three (3) years
- If the operator is under 21 years of age, the suspension is three (3) years or until 21 years of age, whichever is longer
Restoration Requirements – 2nd Offense DUI in CT
- Duration of Suspension is One Year from Effective Date of Suspension
- If the operator was under 21 years of age on the date of the arrest, the duration of suspension is three years from the effective date of the suspension or until the date of the operator’s 21st birthday, whichever is longer
- Submit a check or money order in the amount of $125 payable to “DMV”
- If the Second Conviction was the result of an arrest in Connecticut, then before a license can be restored, the operator must have completed a Substance Abuse Treatment Program, approved by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles